Shall I Compare Me to a Summer’s Day?

Don’t compare me to a summer’s day.

My hair doesn’t fall effortlessly down my back,

It frizzes and tangles its way to my shoulders.

I don’t glide across the floor when I walk

I occasionally trip, bounce, and sometimes break into dance.

I don’t wake up graciously in my bed like a goddess,

I have a bewildered look in my eyes, as my body is outstretched to every corner of my bed.

My voice doesn’t roll off my tongue like honey,

It usually squeaks when I get into a heated argument.

I don’t go to school looking like I’m going to a runway shoot,

I usually prefer a cute t-shirt, jeans and vans.

Do not compare me to a summer’s day,

Because I am better.

I am me.

Image

3 thoughts on “Shall I Compare Me to a Summer’s Day?

Leave a Reply

